Baskin elected Erie County Legislature chair

Apr 29, 2019

Less than two years ago, April Baskin was a candidate for the Erie County Legislature. On Monday, she was elected its chairwoman, moving up from the majority leader post she gained as soon as she became a legislator.

The election occurred at a special session, following the resignation of Peter Savage as chair to become a city judge. The new chair won the podium by a vote of 8-2 in this election year, with all Legislature seats on the ballot this fall.

Democrat April Baskin is the new chairwoman of the Erie County Legislature.
Credit Chris Caya/WBFO News

Speaking after her victory, Baskin praised her predecessor, citing comments from a longer-tenured legislator.

"They noted how well things have changed with you in charge," Baskin said.

Legislators Ed Rath III (R) and Lynne Dixon (I) cast the two votes against Baskin. Rath objected to voting with one legislator, John Mills, out of town and without the person who will occupy Savage's seat.

There has been a shuffle lately in the Legislature, with Howard Johnson approved last week to replace new Buffalo interim comptroller Barbara Miller-Williams and Tim Meyers replacing now-Assemblyman Pat Burke.

Baskin, who represented the 2nd District, is the fourth woman to become Legislature chair and, at 36, is the youngest person ever to hold the leadership position.

WBFO's Chris Caya contributed to this report.