Governor requested a major disaster declaration for 'Snovember' storm

Dec 11, 2014

For area residents and business which suffered damage from the November Lake Effect snow storm that dumped several feet of snow on parts of Western New York, Governor Andrew Cuomo is seeking a federal  disaster declaration. 

Wall of snow in south towns from November storm.
Credit WBFO News photo by Eileen Buckley

The Governor has requested a major disaster declaration for Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Lewis, Orleans, St. Lawrence and Wyoming counties. 

The significant Lake Effect storm and flooding November 18-26, 2014 pounded south Buffalo, Lackawanna, Hamburg, Lancaster and Orchard Park with more than seven feet of snow. 

Estimates from state and local governments say more than $46.6 million was spent.

The state says a major disaster declaration for the counties is the 'next step in seeking financial assistance from the federal government'.  The region needed to a $27.3 million damage threshold.

“Once again, extreme weather came to New York and once again New Yorkers came together to help our neighbors in their time of need,” Governor Cuomo said. “The state, working with communities from every corner of New York, mobilized an unprecedented response to the storm that struck Western New York and the North County. As we continue the recovery process, federal assistance is critical to helping these communities and their residents move beyond this storm and prepare for the rest of the upcoming winter season.”

14-people died as a result of the snow storm. Six were injured.  More than 370 structures experienced roof damage from the weight of snow. 38 structures were completely destroyed.

In rural communities outside of Buffalo also experienced damage. Barn collapses killed and injured livestock, including cattle and horses.  Dairy farmers were forced to dump more than 250,000 pounds of milk. Damages to the agricultural industry alone are estimated at more than $15 million.

The Governor declared a State of Emergency and local States of Emergency were declared in Erie County, the southern areas of the city of Buffalo, the city of Lackawanna, the towns of Alden, Aurora, Hamburg, Cheektowaga, Elma, Marilla, Orchard Park, Lancaster, West Seneca, the villages of Alden, Blasdell, East Aurora, Depew, Hamburg , Lancaster, Orchard Park and Sloan.