Buffalo Broadcasters Association

WBFO file photo

The Buffalo Broadcasters Association has been collecting the film and video archives from local television news outlets. According to Rich Newberg, the former reporter for Channel Four, there are 73 years worth of history found in the collection. Much of the footage, Newberg says, could be lost forever unless it is saved in a digital form. To highlight its potential, Newberg, along with co-producers Tom Vetter and Jacquie Walker, worked for the last year on "The Buffalo Story: History Happens Here." The hour-long special airs at eight tonight on WIVB-TV.

Parkside Luthern Church / YouTube

A Celebration of Life service has been announced for Hall of Fame "Distinguished Broadcaster" Ron Arnold. He died of complications from COVID-19 on Christmas Eve at age 87.

Thomas O'Neil-White

Imagine watching an old television newscast from when you were a kid. Now, it’s a reality for Western New Yorkers. The first batch of archival news footage digitized by the Buffalo Broadcasters Association is available online.


Plans are moving forward to create the BFLO Hall of Fame Experience.  It’s a combined effort of three active local groups: Buffalo Music Hall of Fame, Buffalo Broadcasters Association and Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame.

Buffalo broadcasters Hall of Fame gets new members

Jun 20, 2018
Julianna Sebastian

Six people who have garnered local and national attention were introduced Wednesday as the newest members of the Buffalo Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2018 includes retired WGRZ-TV anchor John Beard, current Star 102.5 show host Roger Christian, national radio station manager Tom Langmyer, broadcast engineer Tom Atkins, 97 Rock Program Director John Hager, and the late Mary Lounsbury, the first female general manager of a Buffalo radio station.

Irv Weinstein, longtime TV anchor, dead at 87

Dec 26, 2017
Buffalo Broadcasting Association

Western New York is remembering Irv Weinstein, the iconic newsman who anchored Channel 7 newscasts for more than 30 years. He died Tuesday afternoon at age 87, according to WKBW-TV.

Buffalo Broadcasters Association

The Buffalo Broadcasting Hall of Fame announced its six new inductees Tuesday. The new inductees are: Voice of the Nashville Predators Pete Weber, WKBW-TV meteorologist Mike Randall, 97 Rock DJ Carl Russo, Townsquare Media Associate Commercial Producer Jim Pastrick, Radio Station Owner Dick Greene, and the late Buffalo radio newsman Ray Marks.

Buffalo Broadcasters announce Class of '16 inductees

Aug 17, 2016
Photo from the Buffalo Broadcasters Association

Chris Caya WBFO News

Former CNN correspondent Susan Candiotti heads this year's inductees into the Buffalo Broadcasting Hall of Fame. Candiotti, who worked at WGR-TV nearly 30 years ago, is being joined by longtime WKBW-TV anchor Keith Radford, among others.

WBFO File Photo / WBFO News

WBFO has been named the Radio Station of the Year.


WBFO's Eileen Buckley received a Buffalo Excellence in Media Award -- known as a BEMA -- Friday night in recognition of her more than 25 years as a radio journalist.